The magic of nature

images

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” Albert Einstein

If you have read my blogs before, you know I’m a big fan of story telling and also outdoor learning. This week, I’m suggesting that you combine the two.

A long, long time ago, when I was young, I had several fairy tale books. My favourite one had a recipe to make a fairy, in it. Unfortunately, I never managed to collect dew from a daffodil at midnight (being 8 and too scared to sneak out at that time), so I can’t say whether it would have worked.

To this day, I remember the excitement of wondering.

For me, fairy tales and nature have always been linked. I see fairy purses on plants, seats in toad stools, homes in trees.

Crazy? Maybe, but If you need new ideas, or something creative. I’m you’re girl.

Both fairy tales and nature, fire children’s imaginations. Imagine a world with no creators or innovators.

Within fairy tales, children are not hampered by normal rules or logic. They are free to express, act and listen to anything, without being judged. Fairy tales often deal with moral conflict, good versus evil, good choices, versus bad ones. Allowing children to consider, discuss and think about valuable life lesson.

Take the children outside, and they will have the space and inspiration to be whatever they want to be.

When my children were young, I told them about garden fairies. If you collected things for their spells, they would leave a treat as a thank you. It gave me the opportunity to watch the children excitedly finding 3 blue flowers, two small pebbles, grass from underneath a tree….You get the picture! They were learning, using their imagination and getting physical exercise at the same time. After their nap they would find the fairies had been and left something to eat in return.

I found this great link recently, and thought I would share it with you. It gives ideas about building fairy dens in your garden and made me wish my children were still small!

http://educatingheartnatureart.com/fairy-house-download/

I hope you enjoy putting some magic into playtime,

Judithx

judith@noelquinn.co.uk

http://www.noelquinn.co.uk

One thought on “The magic of nature”

  1. Magical. And we sometimes forget just how much magic and myth plays such a huge part in children’s creative play and imagination games.

Leave a Reply

